Presidents Message (Toronto Marlboros)

PrintPresidents Message


The Toronto Marlboros Minor Hockey Organization has been instrumental in shaping my character,
belief system and sense of belonging over the first 50 years of my life. I bleed blue. My journey started
in 1982 when I joined the Toronto Marlboros Minor Atoms (U10) and played 8 years through Midget (U18). 

In 1997 upon completion of University I was assigned the 1989 age group and had the
privilege of coaching an incredible group of boys, once again from Novice to Minor Midget who to this
day I can still call friends. I have had the privilege of seeing them marry, play in the NHL, enter the
business world, start families and give back to the community and prepare to foster the next group of
young Marlies. My son was born in 2006 and I was lucky enough to share the experience with him from
Minor Atom through Peewee and to this day other members of my family are actively involved in the

What an honour it was when former players Sam Gagner and John Tavares approached
me to act as President following the transition from former executives. 
My lengthy history as a Marlboro is what I wish for everyone who wears our uniform. Once a Marlboro,
always a Marlboro. We strive to make that a reality. We hope to instill this sense of pride in all those
who come into contact with the organization. Whether here for one year, or eight, we hope you can feel
that you were part of something special.

Moving forward we will be trying to mimic the actions of Past Executives Jim Nicoletti, Mike Chraba and
Lynn Dennis and the enormous success they achieved for over more than 3 decades, while at the same
time trying to adapt to the ever-changing needs of hockey players, their families, as well as an evolving
and dynamic culture. As I tell our players, this is the best sport in the world, we are part of the best league in Canada, and you are part of the best organization in minor hockey. Make us all proud, I know I am.

James Naylor
Toronto Marlboros


LEFT: Brendan Smith - Justin Vaive - James Naylor - Cody Goloubef - John Tavares - Sam Gagner