Toronto Marlboros

Buck Houle Award

Buck Houle
Buck Houle

Presented annually in recognition of outstanding on ice preformance, leadership and loyalty, in the Minor Bantam through Midget age groups.

“Buck” Houle truly was a Marlboro pioneer. As a member of the first ever Marlboro minor team (Bantam) in 1931 Buck went on to play for the Midget and Junior “B” teams before being called to serve in Conn Smythe’s famed 30th Battalion in World War II.

Upon returning to Canada in 1948 he along with Smythe’s son, Stafford, were given the task of building a strong local feeder system for the Maple Leafs through the Marlboro minor and Junior “A” teams. The Leafs had no Toronto born players on their roster at the time.

His success can be evaluated in the steady flow of prospects that made their way through the system to play integral parts in Maple Leaf Stanley Cup victories in the 1950’s and 1960’s.

“Buck” would spend a total of 27 years in hockey as a manager and scout with the Marlboro and Leafs organizations and was directly responsible for the development of some of the club’s most legendary stars.

Year Winner Year Winner
1989-90 Claudio Orlando 2010-2011 Jordan Subban
1990-91 Ryan Mittleman 2011-2012 Connor McDavid
Roland MCKeown
1991-92 Michael Mann 2012-2013 Dylan Strome
1992-93 Roy Gray 2013-2014 Michael McLeod
1993-94 David Anfuso 2014-2015 Ryan McLeod
Matthew Strome
1994-95 Ryan Crane 2015-2016 Akil Thomas
1995-96 Ryan Ward 2016-2017 Jack Hughes
Daniel D’Amico
1996-97 Jeff Milroy 2017-2018 Jamie Drysdale
Ryan Alexander
1997-98 Jason Spezza 2018-2019 Wyatt Johnston
Ethan Del Mastro
1998-99 George Eliopoulos
1999-00 Ricky Nash
2000-01 Chris Hawley
2001-02 Chris D’Alvise
2002-03 Davide Nicoletti
2003-04 Sam Gagne
2004-05 Bryan Cameron
John Tavares
2005-2006 Tyler Forbes
2006-2007 Micheal Cantenacci
Ethan Werek
2007-2008 Freddie Hamilton
2008-2009 Michael Curtis
Ryan Strome
2009-2010 Scott Laughton